Two UMSI faculty named Distinguished ACM Members

Logo for the Association for Computing Machinery

Two School of Information faculty members, research professor Stephanie Teasley and associate professor Mark W. Newman, have been named 2019 Distinguished Members of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM).

“Our overarching goal is to build a community wherein computing professionals can grow professionally and, in turn, contribute to the field and the broader society,” ACM President Cherri M. Pancake said. “We are delighted to recognize these individuals for their contributions to computing, and we hope that the careers of the 2019 ACM Distinguished Members will continue to prosper through their participation with ACM.” 

The ACM is the world’s largest and most prestigious association of computing professionals. Distinguished ACM Members are selected based on, among other criteria, significant impacts on the fields of computing, computer science, or information technology.

Author: Mona Beydoun, ITS Communications

Mona is an intern at U-M ITS. Contact her at or on LinkedIn.